Home Events Nominate Women ODs Who Exemplify Excellence for 7th Annual Theia Awards

Nominate Women ODs Who Exemplify Excellence for 7th Annual Theia Awards

Women In Optometry opens nominations for 2022 awards

Please click here to nominate your colleagues for the 2022 Theia Awards of Excellence.

Women In Optometry will be presenting the Theia Awards during the Women In Optometry’s 2022 Women’s Leadership Conference on Tuesday, October 25, in conjunction with the American Academy of Optometry meeting in San Diego.

Each of the award categories open for nominations is named for a trailblazing woman optometrist. This year, the Industry Influence category is open to women ODs as well as women who are not optometrists.

  • Leadership: organizational or community leadership or advocacy
  • Mentoring: active role in guiding others in practice management and more beyond optometry school
  • Innovation: outreach, marketing, practice models, inventions, etc.
  • Education: inspirational, motivational educator
  • Young OD: an OD within 10 years of graduation who shows any/all of the above qualities
  • Industry Influence: open to women ODs and non-ODs who are influencing the future of the profession in their industry roles or affiliations
  • Business: women ODs who have shown keen business skills and innovation in the promotion/growth of their practices or business

Nominations close on August 15, 2022. You may nominate one or multiple people here.

Now in its seventh years, the annual Theia awards have honored 38 women ODs who have influenced the profession and countless peers with their dedication, commitment, resilience, innovation and leadership. See the previous winners below.


(l-r), first row: Dr. Naheed Ahmad, Dr. Carol Alexander, Dr. Michele Andrews, Dr. Bita Asghari, Dr. Melissa Bailey, Dr. Melissa Barnett and Dr. Etty Bitton; second row: Dr. Laurie Capogna, Dr. Dori M. Carlson, Dr. Caroline Guerrero Cauchi, Dr. Linda M. Chous, Dr. Susan Cotter, Dr. Jenny Coyle and Dr. Debby Feinberg; third row: Dr. Anna Marie Fernandez, Dr. Neda Gioia, Dr. Whitney Hargrove Hauser, Dr. Lauretta Justin, Dr. Millicent L. Knight, Dr. Pamela A. Lowe and Dr. Stacy Ayn Lyons; fourth row: Dr. Breanne McGhee, Dr. Joan Ploem Miller, Dr. Barbara Pelletier, Dr. Nicole Quinn, Dr. Jessilin M. Quint, Dr. Sherrol Reynolds an Dr. Glenda B. Secor; fifth row: Dr. Christine W. Sindt, Dr. Laurie Sorrenson, Dr. Belinda Starkey, Dr. Jennifer Stewart, Dr. Andrea P. Thau, Dr. Thuy Tran and Dr. Rachael A. Wruble; and sixth row: Dr. Karla Zadnik, Dr. Deborah Zelinsky and Dr. Jennifer Smith Zolman
- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Your Practice, Your Way

Cherie Archambeault, OD, knew she wanted to provide care for others in some way, but she wasn’t sure which medical route to take. She...

Frame Boards: Who Decides What Goes?

A five-question poll about frame board decisions. More responses from readers like you = more accurate biweekly reports from WO. Loading…   Check out Dr. Schneider's office and...

Addressing Accommodative Issues Early Is Great for Patients and Business

As part of her effort to differentiate her practice, Ashley Tucker, OD, FAAO, FSLS, appreciates being able to recommend quality products to her patients...

Teleoptometry – From COVID Necessity to a Future Reality

Despite rapid acceptance at the start of the COVID-19 pandemic, teleoptometry is not yet a routine way of doing business for most ODs in...