Home News Optical Women's Association Announces Leadership Scholarship Awards for 2022

Optical Women’s Association Announces Leadership Scholarship Awards for 2022

The Optical Women’s Association (OWA) has announced its 2022 Leadership Scholarship awardees. Recipients are recognized as OWA members who have served the organization with their dedicated committee work, service and commitment to growing leadership roles for women in the optical industry.

The grants, valued at up to $2,000 each, will be used to provide professional mentoring opportunities to each recipient, while continuing to promote OWA’s founding principles of connecting, inspiring, and leading women in the optical industry. The OWA especially thanks its individual contributors who make it possible to offer these scholarships; because of their generous donations, three women, selected from the nominations put forth in October 2022, will receive special leadership training.

Carissa Dunphy

• Carissa Dunphy, OWA Communications & Website Committee (PECAA)

Kerri Ann Raimo

•Kerri Ann Raimo, OWA Digital Marketing Committee (PentaVision)

Jennifer Trakhtenberg

Jennifer Trakhtenberg, OWA Connection & Enrichment Committee (ClearVision Optical)

An additional eight scholarships will be awarded as the result of a newly added benefit for the OWA’s Platinum Sponsors: each company was asked to choose an exceptional female employee who shows promise, dedication and drive to also receive this professional opportunity. The eight women recognized by their companies to be OWA scholarship recipients are:

• Shelley Brady, Regional Manager (Safilo)
• Cara Endriss, Brand Marketing Director (National Vision)
• Shweta Gupta, Senior Marketing Director (EssilorLuxottica)
• Sarah Lovallo, Sales Manager (Essilor Instruments)
• Cheryl Moore, Director of Human Resources (GPN Technologies)
• JaMarie Pfaff, Account Manager (Zyloware)
• Janie Schwartz, Trade Marketing Coordinator (Thelios)
• Tatiana Stewart, Senior Public Relations Specialist (VSP Vision)

OWA President Deb Bulken, Regional Vice President, Eastern Region for Luxottica, shared, “2022 has been another landmark year for both the OWA and women throughout the optical industry. Our Individual Contributors and Sponsors continue to demonstrate their belief in our mission, to prepare women for leadership roles at the highest level.
The diverse roles and responsibilities held by our talented list of achievers is another shining example of how the OWA, at 25 years young, is for ALL women in the industry who are passionate about furthering their professional and personal development.

Congratulations to this year’s winners.

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Teleoptometry – From COVID Necessity to a Future Reality

Despite rapid acceptance at the start of the COVID-19 pandemic, teleoptometry is not yet a routine way of doing business for most ODs in...

AOA Award Winners and More

The American Optometric Association (AOA) has announced its award winners and honorees, plus some other news. Congratulations to all! Andrea Thau, OD, FAAO, FCOVD, FNAP,...

CooperVision 2023 Best Practices Announced

CooperVision has announced its 2023 Best Practices honorees, as well as their 2023 Best Practices Scholarship recipients. ​ Bella Vision - Spartansburg, South Carolina Janet Monaco Wilson, OD, FCOVD,...

Practice Pets: Furry Friends in the Office

Are practice pets a good idea? A recent WO Pop-up Poll asked about pet policies in the office. Some ODs have pets that have...