Home News Women In The News July 2021

Women In The News July 2021

Women In Optometry regularly recognizes your accomplishments in the profession and in your communities. Have you stepped into a new leadership role or recently won an award? Send us a note.

Several women were honored at the National Optometric Association (NOA) meeting:

The Optometrist of the Year recognition was awarded to Paula Boone, OD, of Portsmouth, Virginia.
The Melvin Shipp Young Optometrist of the Year recognition was awarded to Camille Cohen, OD, of Brooklyn, New York.
Chandra Mickles, OD, MS., FAAO, FSLS, of Nova Southeastern University College of Optometry, was honored with the Betty Harville Educator of the Year award.
Essence Johnson, OD, FAAO, of Dallas, Texas, was honored with the Edwin C. Marshall Emerging Leader Award.
Courtney Goode, OD, of Forestville, Maryland, was honored with the NOA Service Award.

Several women were awarded at the 2021 Pennsylvania Optometric Association:

The Young Optometrist of the Year was awarded to Molly Clymer, OD, FAAO, of Hanover.
Sue Miller, OD, of Hartsville, was honored with the Merit Award.
Christine Zlupko, OD, of Port Matilda, was honored with the Merit Award as well.


Linda S. Rouse, OD, was named as the new dean of the Nova Southeastern University College of Optometry.


Janene Sims, OD, PhD, FAAO, has won the Odessa Woolfolk Community Service Award at the University of Alabama Birmingham.

Several women were honored at the North Carolina Optometric Society:

Natalie McIntosh, OD, of Greenville, was honored as the North Carolina Optometric Society Young Optometrist of the Year.
Rebecca Wartman, OD, of Asheville, received the John D. Costabile Distinguished Service Award.
Susanne Kilgo, OD, of Asheville, became the organization’s new president at its meeting in June.


The HealthCare Alliance for Patient Safety presented its inaugural Advocacy Champion Award to Deanna Alexander, OD, FAAO, of Fort Collins, Colorado, and the first Alliance chair.


Anita Ticak, OD, MS, FAAO, is the recipient of the 2021 Cora and J. Davis Armistead Teaching Excellence Award from the University of Houston College of Optometry.

At the College of Optometrists in Vision Development meeting, two women were installed as members of the executive committee, and three women were recognized for their accomplishments:

Jennifer Dattolo, OD, FCOVD, of Woodstock, Georgia, was installed as president.
Marie Bodack, OD, FAAO, FCOVD, of Southern College of Optometry, became vice president.
Kellye Knueppel, OD, FCOVD, of Brookfield, Madison and Fond du Lac, Wisconsin, received the Getman Award.
Christine Allison, OD, FAAO, FCOVD, of Illinois College of Optometry, received the President’s Award.
Brenda Montecalvo, OD, FCOVD, FAAO, FCSO, of Beavercreek, Ohio, shared the Making VT Visible Award.


- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Finding the Right Career Fit Made Easier

Christine Carder takes pride in her job. She’s not just a talent acquisition specialist at Eyes on Eyecare—she’s the bridge that connects optometrists with...

Neurolens Announces N3: An Immersive, Virtual-reality-based Measurement and Education Experience

Powered by over ten billion data points on patient visual behavior and over ten years of proven patient outcomes, Neurolens is proud to introduce...

How to Safely View the Eclipse on Oct. 14

On October 14, an annual solar eclipse will be visible from the coast of Oregon to parts of Canada and the Texas Gulf Coast....

Introverts in the Workplace: It’s a Good Thing

By Nikie Walker, Ed.D, Owner of 20/20 Walker Consulting, Assistant Professor of Business at Brescia University I am what you would call an extra extrovert....