Home News Women in the News - October 2023

Women in the News – October 2023

Women In Optometry regularly recognizes the awards and accomplishments of women ODs in the profession and in their communities in the “Women in the News” series. Have you received an award or acknowledgement for your contributions to optometry or your community? Send us a note: MBijlefeld@jobson.com.

Congratulations to all honorees.

The following optometrists will be awarded at the American Academy of Optometry meeting in New Orleans:
Rabia Mobeen, BOptom, BA, MPhil Optom, Irvin M. and Beatrice Borish Award.
Jennifer Deakins McCreight, OD, FAAO, William Feinbloom Award.
Anne Mika Moy, OD, FAAO, Vincent Ellerbrock Clinician Educator Award.
Annabelle Seddon, Julius F. Neumueller Award in Optics (American Academy of Optometry Foundation Award).
M. Spafford, OD, MSc, PhD, FAAO, Michael G. Harris Family Award for Excellence in Optometric Education (American Academy of Optometry Foundation Award).
Vondolee Delgado-Nixon, PhD, FAAO, AAOF Excellence in Diversity Awareness and Education Award.
Jameel Rizwana Hussaindeen, MPhil, FAAO, PhD, AAOF Outstanding Emerging Leader Award.
Padhmalatha Segu, OD, FAAO, Henry B. Peters Award for Public Health and Environmental Vision (American Academy of Optometry Foundation Award).

Also to be awarded: Dr. Eric B. Papas, Charles F. Prentice Medal and Lecture Award; Dr. Alex R. Bowers, Glenn A. Fry Award and Lecture (American Academy of Optometry Foundation Award); Dr. Timothy A. Wingert, American Academy of Optometry – Essilor Award for Outstanding International Contributions to Optometry; Dr. Nathan Efron, Carel C. Koch Memorial Medal Award; Dr. Ian L. Bailey, Tony Adams Eminent Service Award; Dr. Jason Nichols, Max Schapero Memorial Lecture Award; Dr. Ralph Stone, Founders’ Award; Dr. Donald Korb, Exemplary Service Award.

Optical Women’s Association- New Board of Directors
Lori Lippiatt, OD, succeeds Deb Bulken as President.

Dr. Bianes - Pyxis winner
Dr. Bianes

Dr. Raimo

Dr. Perraud

Dr. Plank
New board members:

Beverly Bianes, OD,

Kerri Ann Raimo, OD,

Christina Perraud, OD, and

Erika Plank, OD.


Laura Di Meglio, OD, received the 2023 Clinical Excellence Award for Non-physician at Wilmer Eye Institute.


(l-r) Dr. Hornick, Dr. Sipes
Lisa Hornick, OD, MBA, FAAO, and Kristyna Sipes, OD, launched their book, Illuminate Your Practice: The Eyecare Provider’s Guide to Intense Pulsed Light at Vision Expo West.


Dr. Block

Dr. Tromans
Sandra Block, OD, MEd, MPH, FAAO, FCOVD, of Chicago, Illinois, was installed as president of the World Council of Optometrists. Dr. Cindy Tromans, of the United Kingdom, has been elected to the position of WCO president-elect.


Erica Griffin, OD, of Littleton, was honored as Optometrist of the Year by the New Hampshire Optometric Association.


Sherrol Reynolds, OD, FAAO, was honored as Optometry Professor of the Year Award at Nova Southeastern University College of Optometry and nominated for the President’s Distinguished Professor Award of Excellence for 2023.


Jacqueline Theis, OD, FAAO, was the keynote speaker at the Renown Annual Neuroscience Symposium.


University of California, Berkeley, Herbert Wertheim School of Optometry & Visual Science
Vicki L. Hughes, OD, Michael G. Harris Distinguished Service Award.
Patsy Harvey, OD, MPH, FAAO, Mert Flom Teaching Award.

Also awarded: Dr. Abraham Bromberg, Alumnus of the Year.

Maria Liu, OD, PhD, MPH, MBA, FAAO, was the Vision by Design poster session winner with her poster on the Efficacy of the Euclid Orthokeratology Lens in Slowing Axial Elongation. She is shown here with  American Academy of Orthokeratology and Myopia Control President Cheryl Chapman, OD, IACMM, FIAOMC, FAAO.


Erin Powers was appointed by Johnson & Johnson Vision as VP of U.S. Sales and Marketing for Surgical Vision.


Karen Walsh was appointed to Lead CooperVision Global Professional Affairs.


To read more news from WO, click here.

Women in the News – September 2023 | Women In Optometry

Women in the News- August 2023 | Women In Optometry

Women in the News- July 2023 | Women In Optometry


Featured photo credit: mustafahacalaki, Getty Images

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Grant Program, $2,000 Awards Open for Submissions

ClearVision and Adira, in collaboration with the Optical Women's Association (OWA), have announced that the second round of the ClearVision-Adira Grant Program is now...

Summer Schedule Changes: Do You Modify Your Office Hours?

As the summer season approaches, many optometrists may modify office hours to better fit the warm and sunny days. We'd love to hear how...

Oasis Optometry: Ownership, Together

Childhood experiences at the optometrist’s office left lasting impressions on Patricia Le, OD, and her sister Stephanie Asis, OD. When it came time to...

Transitions Optical Launches Updated Transitions® Certification Program

Eye care professionals can earn a badge on the Transitions.com “Where to Buy” locator Transitions Optical has launched an updated version of the Transitions® Certification...