Home New Women in the News - March 2023

Women in the News – March 2023

Women In Optometry regularly recognizes the accomplishments of women ODs in the profession and in their communities. Have you stepped into a new leadership role or recently won an award? Send us a note: MBijlefeld@jobson.com.

Jennifer Redfern, OD, of St. Louis, Missouri, was named Senior Director of Eyecare at EssilorLuxottica


Commander Emily J. Sprague, OD, was named the AFOS Overall Senior Optometrist of the Year and a Service Specific Optometrist of the Year of the Navy


Lieutenant Colonel Ann Rudick, OD, MHA, FAAO, was named a Service Specific Optometrist of the Year of the Army


Jenny Coyle, OD, MS, was installed as Pacific University’s 18th president on March 9th, 2023


Stephanie Moss, OD, FAAO, of Rogers, Arkansas, was chosen to be part of the American Optometric Association’s (AOA) 2023 Leadership Institute


Carolyn Powell, OD, of Staten Island, New York, was honored with the Louis R. Miller leadership award


Jeanie Lucy, OD, PhD, MPH, MS FAAO, of Milwaukee, Wisconsin, was named the new dean of the School of Arts and Science and associate professor of biomedical science at Alverno College


Kathleen Steele, of Cincinnati, Ohio, was named president of VSP Ventures


The late Dr. Anita Myrtle Williams Christopher was honored by the NOA with a founder’s award


Brenda Montecalvo, OD, FCOVD, FAAO, FCSO, will be presented with the 2023 G.N. Getman Award by the College of Optometrists in Vision Development



Alissa Proctor, OD, AAO, FCOVD, of Northeastern State University Oklahoma College of Optometry, was one of five 2023 Oklahoma Medal for Excellence award recipients. The Oklahoma Foundation for Excellence honors five outstanding educators in Oklahoma’s public schools.


Texas Optometric Association
Zanna Kruoch, OD, FAAO, University of Houston College of Optometry, was honored with the Mollie Armstrong Leadership Award by the Texas Optometric Association
Nekima Williams, OD, of the University of the Incarnate Word Rosenberg School of Optometry, received the Young Educator of the Year Award


Minnesota Optometric Association
Marlane “Laney” Brown, OD, of Minneapolis, was honored as the 2023 Distinguished OD of the Year
Yuki Oda, OD, of Eden Prairie, was named MOA 2023 Young OD of the Year


Oklahoma Association of Optometric Physicians
Selina McGee, OD, FAAO, of Edmond, was honored as 2023 Optometric Physician of the Year for the Oklahoma Association of Optometric Physicians
Angela Weger, CPOT, CPOC, from Clay-Rhynes Eye Clinic in Durant, was awarded the Paraoptometric of the Year


Texas Optometric Association
Jennifer Deakins-McCreight, OD, FAAO, of Fort Worth, was named TOA president
Beth Robinson, OD, of Friendswood, was named secretary treasurer


Rosalind Overton-Smith, OD, of Greer, South Carolina, was awarded the Distinguished Service award
Erika Morrow, OD, of Savannah, Georgia, was awarded the Young Optometrist of the South award
Anne Granger, CPO, of Lake Charles, Louisiana, was awarded the Paraoptometric of the South award


Optical Women’s Association
Karen Roberts was the recipient of the Pleiades Award
Dr. Bianes - Pyxis winner Beverly Bianes, OD, was the recipient of the Pyxis Award
Talia Bruno was the recipient of the Emerging Leader Award


Student Amaya Moore was awarded the Opening Your Eyes scholarship from The Vision Council to attend Wiregrass Georgia Technical College’s Opticianry Program


Aubry Tackett, a fourth-year optometry student, was the recipient of the Dr. Frank D. Fontana Memorial Scholarship


WO recently added some new members to its advisory board. Know any of them? Click here.

Read more news from WO here. 


Featured photo credit: mattjeacock, Getty Images

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Teleoptometry – From COVID Necessity to a Future Reality

Despite rapid acceptance at the start of the COVID-19 pandemic, teleoptometry is not yet a routine way of doing business for most ODs in...

AOA Award Winners and More

The American Optometric Association (AOA) has announced its award winners and honorees, plus some other news. Congratulations to all! Andrea Thau, OD, FAAO, FCOVD, FNAP,...

CooperVision 2023 Best Practices Announced

CooperVision has announced its 2023 Best Practices honorees, as well as their 2023 Best Practices Scholarship recipients. ​ Bella Vision - Spartansburg, South Carolina Janet Monaco Wilson, OD, FCOVD,...

Practice Pets: Furry Friends in the Office

Are practice pets a good idea? A recent WO Pop-up Poll asked about pet policies in the office. Some ODs have pets that have...