Home Newsmakers Women in the News - November 2023

Women in the News – November 2023

Women In Optometry regularly recognizes the awards and accomplishments of women ODs in the profession and in their communities in the “Women in the News” series. Have you received an award or acknowledgement for your contributions to optometry or your community? Send us a note: MBijlefeld@jobson.com.

Congratulations to all honorees.

Photoco, Getty Images

Stacey Coulter, OD, MS, FAAO, FCOVD, has been named Associate Dean for Clinical Affairs at Nova Southeastern University College of Optometry.


Jade Coats, OD, was recognized as a “2023 Ones to Watch” by Celebrate Arkansas Magazine.


Jessica Haynes, OD, was named the 2023 Young OD of the Year by the Tennessee Association of Optometric Physicians.



The Tennessee Association of Optometric Physicians awarded the following honorees with awards (l-r): Amy Elizabeth Reeves, Paraoptometric of the Year; Amanda Dellinger, OD, of Rogersville, Optometrist of the Year; Zachary McCarthy, OD, of Chattanooga, the Dr. Jeff Foster Distinguished Service Award; and Lisa Privett, OD, of Alamo, 2023 Trustee of the Year.


The Tennessee Association of Optometric Physicians installed a new board (l-r): Stephanie Price, OD, President-elect; Laura Sechler, OD, President; Emily Eisenhower, OD, Chair; Wayne Connell, OD, Secretary/Treasurer.


Dr. Bright, left.
McKenzie Bright, OD, was named the West Virginia Association of Optometric Physicians’ Young Optometrist of the Year.


Laura Suppa, OD, of Charleston, West Virginia, won the prestigious Foley House Award for early career achievement from the Indiana University School of Optometry.


Ohio Optometric Association Awards

Tracey Needham, OD, Warren G. and Ruth P. Morris Optometrist of the Year.
Tiffany Young, OD, Jack T. Keith Young Optometrist of the Year.
Erica Shelton, OD, Archer Award for Humanitarian Service.
Amy Keller, OD, Outstanding Realeyes Involvement – Most Students Educated.
Ame Cline, OD, Outstanding Realeyes Involvement – Community Impact.
Juliana Mazzotta, Student of the Year.

Also named: Robert Sprague, Ohio Treasurer – Friend of Optometry

Laura Suppa, WVAOP President-elect, owner of Charleston Vision Source; Lindsay Lawrence; and Kayla Campbell, OD, WVAOP President.
Lindsay Lawrence was named Paraoptometric of the Year from Charleston Vision Source.


Suzanne Krauss was named the new Director of Shows at The Vision Council.


Women in the News – October 2023 | Women In Optometry

Women in the News – September 2023 | Women In Optometry

Women in the News- August 2023 | Women In Optometry

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Scaling Dry Eye Services Into a Standalone Specialty

Janelle Davison, OD, of Smyrna, Georgia, had a dilemma. She had begun offering more dry eye services in her practice, Brilliant Eyes Vision...

Hats Off to Optometry School Leadership

Updated July 2024 Educating future optometrists is a passion shared by these great optometry leaders at the nation's schools and colleges of optometry. While this...

Two New Optometry School Deans Announced

Two optometry schools announced the selection of new deans this month. Sharon A. Bentley, BScOptom, MOptom, PhD, MPH, FAAO, FACO, will become dean of the...

Vitality NutraSmoothie Delivers the Nutrients Healthy Eyes Require

Vitality NutraSmoothie Fruits and vegetables that are naturally colorful not only add flavor and texture to your smoothies, they also deliver nutrients and vitamins that...