Home News Women In The News - September

Women In The News – September

source: Getty Images

Women In Optometry regularly recognizes the accomplishments of women ODs in the profession and in their communities. Have you stepped into a new leadership role or recently won an award? Send us a note: MBijlefeld@jobson.com.

The American Academy of Optometry (AAO) announced the 2021 Award Recipients:

The AAO-Essilor Award for Outstanding International Contributions to Optometry will be presented to Bina J. Patel, OD, FAAO.
Kimberly S. Molter, OD, is honored with the Brien Holden Humanitarian Award.
Tawna L. Roberts, OD, PhD, FAAO, has been named the Irvin M. and Beatrice Borish Award winner.
Hannah R. Gregory, OD, MS, will be honored as the Julius F. Neumueller Award in Optics winner(AAO Foundation Award).
The Garland W. Clay Award goes to Sofia C. Peixoto-De-Matos, MSc,
Nicola S. Logan, PhD,
Cheryl Ngo, MBBS, MMed
and Deborah Jones, BSc, FAAO
Etty Bitton, OD, MSc, FAAO,
and Anne Mika Moy, OD, FAAO, will receive the Michael G. Harris Family Award for Excellence in Optometric Education (AAO Foundation Award) and Awards of the Section on Cornea, Contact Lenses and Refractive Technologies.


Stephen A. Burns, PhD, FAAO, will be honored with the Charles F. Prentice Medal and Lecture Award.

Konrad Pesudovs, OD, PhD, FAAO, was named the Glenn A. Fry Award and Lecture (AAO Foundation Award).

Gang Luo, PhD, was announced as the winner of the William Feinbloom Award.

Robert E. Molter, Jr., OD, FAAO, will receive the Brien Holden Humanitarian Award.

Raymond Kraker, MSPH, was named the Carol C. Koch Memorial Medal Award winner.

Paul Chamberlain, BSc (Hons), and Graeme Young, PhD, FAAO, were named as Garland W. Clay Award winner.

Joseph T. Barr, OD, MS, FAAO, was honored with the Founders’ Award and Awards of the Public Health and Environmental Vision Section.

W. Howard McAlister, OD, MPH, FAAO, was honored as the Henry B. Peters Award for Public Health and Environmental Vision winner (AAO Foundation Award).

The American Academy of Optometry Foundation (AAOF) announced the recipients of the 2021 Johnson & Johnson Vision Residency Awards.

The Sheldon Wechsler Contact Lens Residency Award goes to Connie Chen, OD, of University of Houston College of Optometry,
and Cori Jones, OD, of George E. Wahlen VA Medical Center.
The George W. Mertz Contact Lens Residency Award winners are Alyssa Invergo, OD, of Pacific University College of Optometry,
and Grace Tseng, OD, of University of California, Berkeley School of Optometry.


The AAOF honored Elizabeth Cho, OD, as this year’s recipient of the Rhonda S. Robinson Contact Lens Residency Award.


TJ Nutrition®, a Texas nutraceutical company that creates unique, patented supplements based on the clinical research of Genetic Disease Investigators, announced four professionals to its advisory board. The group will steer the company’s initiatives as it continues to drive awareness and support for autonomic dysfunction, including POTS (postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome, dry eye disease, chronic inflammation and connective tissue disorders.

Paul Karpecki, OD, of Carrollton, Kentucky.
Jesse Nord of Los Angeles, California.
Bill Thompson, OD, of Dallas, Texas.
Gayle Karanges, OD, of Arlington, Texas.


CooperVision announced the addition of three well-known optometrists to its Professional Affairs teams:

Karen Walsh, MCOptom, PGDip, FAAO, FIACLE, FBCLA, steps into a newly created role as Director, Global Professional Affairs, 1 Day & FRP Brands.
Arti Shah, OD, FAAO, brings more than 20 years of experience to a new role as Senior Manager, U.S. Professional and Academic Affairs—West, CooperVision.
Justine Siergey, OD, FSLS, joins CooperVision Specialty EyeCare as Manager, Professional Affairs, Irregular Cornea.


Jennifer Tsai, OD, of New York, New York, is a 2021 honoree on Forbes Next 1000 list of inspiring upstart entrepreneurs and small business leaders. dr jennifer tsai


Amanda Aker, a second-year optometry student at Nova Southeastern University College of Optometry, is honored as the Drs. Mark & Brandee Marciano Changing Lives Scholarship.


Amber Pearce, a third-year optometry student at Nova Southeastern University College of Optometry, was selected as the first recipient of the Rouse Family Changing Lives Scholarship.


Jia Zhou, a fourth-year student at Nova Southeastern University College of Optometry, will recieve the Johnson & Johnson Vision Student Travel Fellowship for the Academy 2021 Boston.

Congratulations to all honorees!

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

No Mentor, No Problem! How to Become Self-Made in Eye Care.

By Maria Sampalis, OD, Corporate Optometry Careers You don’t need to have a family member that was or is in the eye care industry or...

Hire Great Associates and Support Them as They Succeed

In 1998, Ann Voss, OD, FCOVD, Diplomate ABO, was ready to open her own office and founded Bellaire Family Eye Care.  After 10 years,...

Concerns About COVID-19 for ECPs and Potential Staff Remain

Based on the responses to the 27th wave of the Jobson Coronavirus ECP Survey, most practitioners expect to finish 2021 in a much better...